The UNITED NATIVE AMERICAN HOUSING ASSOCIATION (UNAHA) was formed in 1985 to give a collective voice regarding housing matters to over 30 Tribes located in HUD Region VIII which encompasses Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, Nebraska, and Kansas.

UNAHA blends two National American Indian Housing Council and AMERIND Regions which prior to 1985 were represented by two separate advocacy organizations; the NORTHERN PLAINS INDIAN HOUSING ASSOCIATION and the DAKOTA TERRITORIES INDIAN HOUSING ASSOCIATION. Organizing as UNAHA provided two delegates to each of the respective National Organizations serving Indian Housing interest in those states.

UNAHA provides information to member housing entities related to training, legislation, resources, and other issues affecting Indian housing. It is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of elected officers: Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer.

The organization meets three times each year. The annual meeting is always held in Denver, Colorado in conjunction with the ALL WEST NATIVE AMERICAN BASKETBALL CLASSIC. A summer meeting is usually held in August and the location changes each year in an attempt to try to occasionally meet near each member. A third and final meeting is held each year in Las Vegas, Nevada in conjunction with the NAIHC Legal Symposium. This meeting schedule is an attempt to provide members an opportunity to stretch their travel and training budgets.

Montana North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Colorado Utah Nevada Wyoming


Apsaalooke Nation Housing Authority
Florist “Joanie” Rowland, Executive Director

P O Box 99
Crow Agency, MT 59022-0099
(406) 623-7145

Blackfeet Housing Authority
Mary Gordon, Executive Director
P O Box 449
Browning, MT 59417-0449
(406) 338-5031

Chippewa Cree Housing Authority
Allen LaMere, Executive Director

RR 1, Box 567
Box Elder, MT 59521-8795
(406) 395-4370

Fort Peck Housing Authority
Dr. Robin Bighorn, Executive Director

P O Box 667
Poplar, MT 59255-0677
(406) 768-3459

Northern Cheyenne Housing Authority
Rod Trahan, Executive Director

P O Box 327
Lame Deer, MT 59043-0327
(406) 477-6419

Salish & Kootenai Housing Authority
Jody Perez, Executive Director

P O Box 38
Pablo, MT 59855-0038
(406) 675-4491

Fort Belknap Housing Authority
Harlan Mount, Executive Director

668 Agency Main Street
Harlem, MT 59526-9455
(406) 353-2601 ext. 25

Little Shell Chippewa Tribe
Shanna Christopherson, Housing Director

615 Central Avenue
Great Falls, MT 59404=2888
(406) 315-2400 ext. 110

North Dakota

Fort Berthold Housing Authority
Coby Rabbithead, Executive Director

P O Box 310
New Town, ND 58763-0310
(701) 627-4731

Spirit Lake Housing Authority
Anthony Longie, Executive Director

P O Box 187
Fort Totten, ND 58335-0187
(701) 766-4131

Standing Rock Housing Authority
Chad Harrison, Executive Director

P O Box 769
Fort Yates, ND 58538-0769
(701) 854-3891

Trenton Indian Housing Authority
Melissa Lee, Executive Director

P O Box 155
Trenton, ND 58853-0155
(701) 572-6792

Turtle Mountain Housing Authority
Rebecca Phelps-Olander, Executive Director

P.O. Box 620
Belcourt, ND 58316-0620
(701) 477-5673

South Dakota

Cheyenne River Housing Authority
Sharon Vogel, Executive Director

P O Box 480
Eagle Butte, SD 57625-0480
(605) 964-4265

Crow Creek Housing Authority
Joseph Shields, Sr., Executive Director
P O Box 19
Fort Thompson, SD 57339-0019
(605) 245-2250

Flandreau Santee Sioux Housing Authority
Elizabeth Fisherman, Executive Director

P O Box 328
Flandreau, SD 57028-0328
(605) 997-2194

Sicangu Wicoti Awanyakapi Corporation
Gary LaPointe, Executive Director

P O Box 69
Rosebud, SD 57570-0069
(605) 747-2203

Lower Brule Housing Authority
Jeannie Cadwell, Executive Director

P O Box 183
Lower Brule, SD 57548-0183
(605) 473-5522

Sisseton-Wahpeton Housing Authority
Eric Shepherd, Executive Director

605 Lydia Goodsell Street
Sisseton, SD 57262-2230
(605) 698-3901

Oglala Sioux (Lakota) Housing Authority
John Steele, CEO

P O Box 603
Pine Ridge, SD 57770-0603
(605) 867-5161

Yankton Sioux Housing Authority
Tammy Rangel, Executive Director

410 South Main
Wagner, SD 57380-9663
(605) 384-3171


Santee Sioux Tribal Housing Authority
Frank Whipple, Executive Director

Route 2, Box 5259
Niobrara, NE 68760-8643
(402) 857-2656

Northern Ponca Housing Authority
Joey Nathan, Executive Director

1501 West Michigan Ave
Norfolk, NE 68701-5602
(402) 379-8224

Omaha Tribal Housing Authority
Melissa Henscheid, Executive Director

P O Box 150
Macy, NE 68039-0150
(402) 837-5728

Winnebago Housing & Development Commission
Norma Stealer, Executive Director

P O Box 671
Winnebago, NE 68071-0671
(402) 878-2241



Southern Ute Indian Housing Authority
Eric Spady, Executive Director

PO Box 447
Ignacio, CO 81122
(970) 563-4575

Ute Mountain Ute Housing Authority
Benny Cordova, Acting Executive Director

PO Box 447
Towaoc, CO 81334-0088
(970) 565-4283


Goshute Housing Authority
Edwin Naranjo, Executive Director

P O Box 6035
Ibapah, UT 84034-6035
(435) 234-1174

Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Paiute
Indian Tribe of Utah Housing Authority
G. Cale Worley, Executive Director

707 North Main Street
Brigham City, UT 84302-1449
(435) 723-3013

Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah Housing Authority
James Emery, Executive Director

565 North 100 East
Cedar City, UT 84721
(435) 586-1122

Skull Valley Band of Goshute
Candace Bear, Tribal Chairperson

407 Skull Valley Road
Skull Valley, UT 84029-8004
(435) 882-4532

Ute Indian Housing Authority
Tyson Thompson, Executive Director

PO Box 190
Fort Duchense, UT 84026-0250


Duck Valley Housing Authority
Kyle Prior, Acting Executive Director

(775) 757-3589 x111
P.O. Box 129
Owyhee, NV 89832


Eastern Shoshone Housing Authority
Charles Washakie, Executive Director

P O Box 1250
Fort Washakie, WY 82514-1250
(307) 332-5832

Northern Arapaho Housing Authority
Patrick Goggles, Executive Director

501 Ethete Road
Ethete, WY 82520-9384
(307) 332-5318

Upcoming Events

Click here to download application.

Subscribe to our Mailing List