UNITED NATIVE AMERICAN HOUSING ASSOCIATION RESOLUTION #2023-03

A RESOLUTION REQUESTING THAT HUD REMOVE ALL LEVERAGING REQUIREMENTS FROM NOFOS FOR ICDBG and IHBG COMPETITIVE GRANTS

WHEREAS, the United Native American Housing Association (UNAHA) is comprised of individual member Indian Housing Authorities, Tribally Designated Housing Entities, and Tribes from the states of Colorado, Wyoming, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota, Montana and Utah, and

WHEREAS, HUD currently requires as a matter of administrative preference that all Notices of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for the Indian Community Development Block Grant (ICDBG) and Competitive Indian Housing Block Grant (IHBG Competitive) contain points for leveraging against the grant funds – that is, requiring applicants to come up with other funds outside of the grant to support their projects;

WHEREAS, leveraging requirement and the NOFO points that it represents have become a significant barrier to tribes and TDHE of all sizes and capacities and most tribes and TDHEs do not have access to the additional funds necessary to satisfy the leveraging requirements. As a result, fewer tribes and TDHEs are able to compete for these important funding sources;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that UNAHA recommends, urges, and requests to HUD ONAP that any and all leveraging requirements be immediately and permanently removed from all NOFOs related to any of the Indian Community Development Block Grant (ICDBG) programs and the IHBG Competitive grant program.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that UNAHA recommends, urges, and requests to HUD ONAP that the newly established Tribal Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (TIAC) be used as a resource to resolve any other unfair and non-competitive provisions in current and future NOFOs.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted during a duly called, noticed and convened Annual Meeting assembled for business in Lakewood, Colorado on the 4th day of April, 2023, with 29 members present to constitute a quorum and by a vote of ALL members voting FOR, NO members Opposed, and NONE not voting.

Sharon Vogel Chairman Iva Zimmerma

Secretary